Welcome Great Pumpkin

July 2016

Hosting Craft Night with my Sistas is always a big deal to me; I can’t help myself. Even without Mom’s help, I usually go a little overboard.

This summer has been so hot – everywhere across the country. I don’t think it’s all due to global warming, either. I think some of it has to do with the forever-long political season and it getting everyone’s ire up.

This is always the time of year that I start thinking about fall. I know it’s a bit early, especially for Florida, but it makes me feel cooler. I love fall and the colors that come with it. I’ve never lived in the north where seasons change, yet it’s my favorite time of year. So much so that if I could be a bird, I’d fly around the earth seeking successive autumns.

Why not a craft that will take us into fall, if only for one evening?

We made painted pumpkins using scraps of wood and we painted a jack-o-lantern on a clay pot. Of course, I had complete kits for everyone and it was only $10 each.

Supplies:

three pieces of scrap wood in different sizes, a clay pot, acrylic paints, paint brushes, ribbon, small pieces of branches, ribbon, silk leaves, raffia, gloves, baby wipes, and plastic cups

supplies

The wood scraps were 2X4, 2X6 and 2X8.

First we painted the wood scraps orange, then using a dry brush, we shadowed the pumpkins to give them dimension and texture. Using hot glue, we attached the small pieces of branches to the top, then tied ribbon and raffia around the stems. Going back to the hot glue, we attached the silk leaves – and the pumpkins were done!

As a bonus, the Sistas also made a jack-o-lantern from a clay pot. The one we used was a 5-inch pot, but of course, any size will do.

Turn it upside down and paint a jack-o-lantern face on the pot. Then glue a stem, tie a bow, glue in a leaf, and viola’ – another swift project in the “Mission Accomplished” file.

allpumpkins

Into the craft zone — without any politics.

Ahhh!

Sigh!

 

Leave a Reply

