Yarn Ball Wreath

My mother could knit!

In fact, she knitted up until only weeks before she passed away at 94.

wafghans

If there was a wedding, Mom knitted the happy couple a new afghan.

wbaby.jpg

If there was an expected new arrival, Mom would knit the lucky baby a blanket, bonnet and slippers.

wsweaters

She knitted sweaters – lots and lots of sweaters. I wish I still had all of the sweaters she knitted me.

wcrochet

And she must have learned from my Grandmother Steele (although this is crocheted).

When my mother passed away, she left behind a bunch of yarn; small amounts that weren’t enough to make anything with. So, the balls of yarn have been sitting in her knitting bag and I’ve been trying to think of something I could knit or crochet using those scraps of yarn.The only thing I could think of was to crochet an afghan like the one above that my grandmother made.

Then one day it dawned on me that I needed to think outside of the box and come up with something different. I was reminded of a small yarn ornament I had seen over the holidays and decided to make something similar.

Supplies:

w1

styrofoam circle for wreath form (I should probably buy stock in the styrofoam company.), yarn or string to cover the wreath form, scrap yarn (I wish I could tell you how much you’ll need.), scissors, white glue, and hot glue.

It took me two nights, while sitting in front of the television, to roll the small balls of yarn from my mother’s scraps, and it took me about an hour to wrap the wreath form in the yarn. Some time ago, I purchased a bag of small yarn balls that I was keeping in a bowl on the coffee table, so I combined those yarn balls with the ones I rolled using my mom’s yarn scraps. The only money I spent was on the wreath form, which was about $8. I think that because of the amount of total time for this project, I would consider it an Intermediate level.

Begin by rolling up small balls of yarn from the scraps. Each of the balls I used were 1.5-inches  and 2.5 inches in diameter. Set them aside. I didn’t count how many I used, but I think it’s in the 70-75 range.

Then cover the styrofoam wreath form with yarn or string.

w2

Just for the sake of sanity, you’ll want to cut pieces of the yarn several yards long and wrap them around the form one at a time, gluing down the ends.

w3

Once the form is covered, you can begin gluing the yarn balls to the form. I moved mine around quite a bit before I was satisfied with the layout.

w4

Keep gluing the balls of yarn on to the form, until you are satisfied with the look of your wreath.

wfinal

Before you know it, your project is done!

My mother usually used circular needles to knit, but she had a few straight needles in her bag, so I stabbed a set of them into a yarn ball and called it a night.

wreath1

Mother would love this, just as much as I do.

Leave a Reply

