Burlap Ribbon Wreath

Still spending most of my free time in my safe room (my craft room), I’ve made a bunch of things that I’ll be sharing with you. I saw this idea on the Dollar Tree‘s DIY Facebook page and fell in love with it. Here’s my version.

Supplies:

1

Wire wreath form with four rows of wire, four rolls of brown burlap wired ribbon (3-yards on each roll), one roll each of two other colors of burlap wired ribbon, scissors, hot glue gun, and optional decorative items for the completed wreath.

NOTE: The most important item in that photo is my yellow rubber mat. You will definitely need something to catch the dripping hot glue — and don’t make that something your legs! Just sayin’.

I bought all of the craft items at Dollar Tree, so the cost for the wreath form, wired ribbon  and decorative balls was $8. This is what I would call an intermediate project – only because of the continuous use of hot glue and the gathering of the wired ribbon. If you work non-stop, this project should take you about an hour or so to complete.

16

So, let’s get started.

2

Unroll all of the brown burlap wired ribbon from one roll and begin gathering it. Pull the wire at one end of the ribbon just like you would pull a thread for gathering. Slowly gather/pucker up the ribbon until it’s just long enough to go around the outside ring of the wire wreath form. Don’t pull the wire to quickly, you don’t want to break the wire. You will want to gather your burlap ribbon from both ends. Bend back the wire you have pulled to hold your gathers in place.

The wire wreath form has a curve to it, kind of like a bowl. Pretending it is a bowl, turn it so it sits upside down, with the curve of the wreath form facing upward. Working only 5-6 inches at a time, apply hot glue to the outside wire of the wreath form and then press in the gathered side of the burlap ribbon; into the hot glue.

I can’t stress enough that YOU MUST BE VERY CAREFUL not to touch the hot glue with your fingers. It WILL burn and blister. I use an unsharpened pencil to help me press the ribbon into the glue. Continue gluing down the gathered wired burlap ribbon until you have fully covered the outside ring of the wreath form.

Repeat this same exact process for the other three rings of the wreath form. Gather up the burlap ribbon, then glue it to the next ring in on the wreath form, continuing to work from the outside to the inside. You will do this until all four rings are covered in the gathered, wired, burlap ribbon.

This might be a good time to tell you that I’m no photographer. I don’t have proper lighting nor a fancy camera. I have my cell phone, only – but it works and serves the purpose. Maybe next time, I’ll do some cropping, though. ha ha

Now it’s time to embellish the wreath with roses made from more ribbon. I used pink and blue burlap ribbon, making two pink roses and one blue.

To make the roses, cut off a piece of wired ribbon about 18-inches long. Then using the same gathering techniques you used on the actual wreath, gather up the ribbon until it’s about 8-9 inches long.

As you can see from the third photo above, just roll up, then fold down the wire so the gathers stay in place.

Put a puddle of hot glue in the place on the wreath where you want to put your rose, then press it in place and hold it there until the glue dries.15

I glued down some decorative twig balls and called this project finished.  I hope you like it and will share your results with me.

17

Leave a Reply

